View the series
© CNRS Images - 2013

Fort Saint-Jean in Marseille

A restored History

Reference

4068

Duration

00:08:00

Production year

2013
HD
16/9
Color
Sound

Director(s)

Hervé COLOMBANI

Summary

Fort Saint-Jean is of great importance in Marseille because this site is the founding point of the city. A reconstruction of this building and the Saint Laurent church is undertaken using modelling techniques to better understand its history, because it was transformed and destroyed so many times in 26 centuries.
Myriame Morel, historian and curator of the MuCEM, and Michel Florenzano, architect and former director of the MAP, share their research outcomes on different sources of documentation (iconographies, architectural surveys, archaeological findings, etc.) and the complexity of their investigations because of the very fragmentary and scattered sources.
Livio De Luca, architect director of the MAP, presents the laboratory and in particular the Fort Saint-Jean project which has made it possible to develop an original approach based on the mapping of current data with those of the past, and to experiment with a three-dimensional acquisition system.
Nicolas Nony, historian, shows the interface which makes it possible to generate automatically 3-D colored-dot clusters from photographs.
Romain Balza, architect, describes the photomodelling methodology used to produce a complete and textured 3D model.

CNRS Institute(s)

Regional office(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

Voir la série
© CNRS Images - 2013

Fort Saint-Jean de Marseille (Le)

Une histoire restituée

Numéro de notice

4068

Durée

00:08:00

Année de production

2013

Versions

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

COLOMBANI Hervé

Résumé

Le fort Saint-Jean de Marseille a une grande importance car ce lieu est le point de fondation de la ville. Une reconstitution de cet édifice et de l'église Saint Laurent est entreprise grâce aux techniques de modélisation pour mieux comprendre son histoire, car en 26 siècles, il a subi de très nombreuses transformations et destructions.
Myriame Morel, historienne conservatrice du MuCEM, et Michel Florenzano, architecte et ancien directeur du MAP, font part des recherches des différentes sources de documentation (iconographies, relevés d'architecture, d'archéologie...) qui ont été menées et de leur étude complexe due au fait qu'elles sont très fragmentaires et éparpillées.
Livio De Luca, architecte directeur du MAP, présente le laboratoire et en particulier le projet du fort Saint-Jean qui a permis de développer une approche originale basée sur la mise en correspondance des données actuelles avec celles du passé, et d'expérimenter un dispositif d'acquisition tridimensionnelle.
Nicolas Nony, historien, montre l'interface qui permet de générer automatiquement à partir des photographies, les nuages de points colorés en 3D.
Romain Balza, architecte, décrit la méthodologie de photomodélisation qui permet de restituer un modèle en 3D complet et texturé.

Institut(s)

Délégation(s)

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.