View the series
© CNRS - 2021

Femmes dans la deeptech (Les)

Reference

7291

Duration

00:07:06

Production year

2021

Versions

Original material

HD
16/9
Color
Sound

Director(s)

Aurore CHATRAS

Summary

The third episode looks at the gender issue in deep tech start-ups. While research-based start-ups are multiplying and becoming increasingly important in the French economic landscape, the percentage of women at the head of these companies remains very low. Today, less than 2% of robotics start-ups and less than 3% of AI start-ups are founded by women. While parity is higher at the research stage, with many young women researchers, the gap increases when you get to positions of authority. How can we shatter the glass ceiling to get more women involved in the creation of the world of tomorrow?

For Martina Knoop, head of the CNRS parity and equality committee, this situation can be attributed to the lack of dedicated support for women in entrepreneurship. Anais Barut, president and co-founder of DAMAE Médical, a deep tech start-up in the health sector, also agrees. Specialising in dermatology, this start-up has developed a device that detects skin cancer without a biopsy.

Ane Aanesland is the CEO and co-founder of ThrustMe, a start-up specialising in the design of economically and environmentally sustainable miniature satellite propulsion systems.

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

Voir la série
© CNRS - 2021

Femmes dans la deeptech (Les)

Numéro de notice

7291

Durée

00:07:06

Année de production

2021

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

CHATRAS Aurore

Résumé

Ce troisième épisode évoque la question de la parité au sein des startups deeptech. En effet, alors que les startups issues de la recherche se multiplient et deviennent incontournables dans le paysage économique français, le pourcentage de femmes à la tête de ces entreprises reste très faible. Aujourd'hui, moins de 2% des startups dans la robotique, et moins de 3% des startups dans l'IA sont créées par des femmes. Si la parité est plus élevée au stade de la recherche, avec beaucoup de jeunes chercheuses, c'est en arrivant aux postes de pouvoir que l'écart se creuse. Comment briser le plafond de verre et faire plus de place aux femmes dans l'invention du monde à venir ?

Pour Martina Knoop, responsable du comité parité-égalité au CNRS, cette situation s'explique par le manque d'accompagnement dédié aux femmes dans l'entrepreneuriat. Un constat également partagé par Anais Barut, présidente et cofondatrice de DAMAE Médical, une startup Deeptech dans le milieu de la santé. Spécialisée dans la dermatologie, cette startup a développé un dispositif permettant de détecter des cancers de la peau sans biopsie.

Ane Aanesland est la CEO et cofondatrice de ThrustMe, une startup spécialisée dans la conception de système de propulsion des satellites miniaturisés qui se veulent économiquement et écologiquement durable.

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.