© C&C Giron/CNRS janvier 2003

Vela of Nenmara and Vallenghi (The)

Reference

1082

Duration

00:32:00

Production year

2003

Versions

Original material

Sound

Summary

After a festival lasting ten days, the "Vela," meaning procession, marks the festive rivalry between two villages, Nenmara and Vallenghi (in Kerala in southern India), to pay homage to the goddess Sri Nellikulangara Bhagavati, who freed them from the demon king Dharika.

The climax and close of the festival, a procession, preceded by an oracle and consisting of ten splendidly caparisoned elephants, leads the divinity of each village toward the temple of the goddess shared by both places, to the rhythm of a village orchestra (nagarvadyam) and a "classical" orchestra (panchavadyam).

Scientific referent(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© C&C Giron/CNRS janvier 2003

Vela de Nenmara et Vallenghi

Numéro de notice

1082

Durée

00:32:00

Année de production

2003

Versions

Support Original

Sonore

Résumé

Après un festival d'une dizaine de jours, "Vela", c'est-à-dire procession, marque la rivalité festive de deux villages, Nenmara et Vallenghi (Kérala, Inde du sud) pour rendre hommage à la déesse Sri Nellikulangara Bhagavati qui les a libérés du roi démon Dharika.
Point culminant et final du festival, une procession, précédée d'un oracle et composée d'une dizaine d'éléphants richement parés, conduit la divinité de chaque village vers le temple de la déesse commun aux deux localités, au rythme d'un orchestre villageois (nagarvadyam) et d'un orchestre "classique" (panchavadyam).
Un des membres du comité d'organisation exprime son point de vue sur ce qu'est devenu Vela, festivité de plus en plus fastueuse (augmentation du nombre d'éléphants composant la procession et du nombre de pétards achetés), qui favoriserait une meilleure ouverture d'esprit et un réajustement social.
Par les images et le discours Vela est ainsi présenté dans toute sa complexité, entre pratique rituelle et reflet du contexte social.

Référent(s) Scientifique(s)

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.