Only available for non-commercial distribution
© CNRS - 2021

Gilthead bream faced with climate change (The)

Reference

7341

Duration

00:07:54

Production year

2021

Original material

HD
16/9
Color
Sound

Transcription


01 00 03 05
Faced with the acceleration of global warming, some regions of the world are more vulnerable than others. These include the poles for instance, or the Mediterranean, a genuine inland sea that is warming up 20 % more quickly than the oceans. The situation is particularly critical on the coastal strip, and experts anticipate dramatic changes in the animal and plant communities that populate it.

01 00 34 05
How much longer will the gilthead sea bream be able to use the lagoons in the Mediterranean? This question is of interest to scientists from the CNRS and Ifremer because this fish emblematic of the region feeds in the lagoons to build energy reserves before reproducing.

01 00 53 12 Jérôme Bourjea - marine biologist - IFREMER
“When it comes to species like the bream that use these lagoons quite intensively, it is legitimate to wonder what will happen if temperatures rise by 1, 2, or 3 degrees Celsius. Today, they reach 30-33 degrees at their hottest, but in ten years' time, this could be as much as 35 or 36 degrees. What are the capacities of these fish to withstand such increases?”

01 01 17 08
This is indeed a burning issue since every summer, heatwaves disturb the living conditions of Mediterranean seashells and fish, much to the dismay of local fishing communities. Known as the “malaïgue”, literally “bad water” in Occitan dialect, this overheating phenomenon occurs more and more often. Soaring temperatures combined with the absence of wind lead to an algal bloom, in other words a proliferation of algae and bacteria that use all the oxygen available in the water column.

Faced with this oxygen depletion, some species of fish, such as the gilthead breams migrate to the open sea.

To understand the behavior of breams facing such extreme events, Jerome Bourjea and his team use a technique called bioacoustics.

01 02 08 21 Jérôme Bourjea - marine biologist
“The method we use is called acoustic telemetry. We place small devices in the water to listen to noises. These noises come from tiny transmitters implanted in the breams for identification purposes. This will tell us which fish goes where, and when.”

01 02 30 02
Professional fishermen at the Etang de Thau and Leucate help researchers monitor the movements of the fish in the pools. Within this collaboration, everyone contributes their know-how for the success of the study, which requires catching live breams.

After taking biometric measures such as weight and size and collecting scale samples to determine the age of the fish, the bream is equipped with an acoustic transmitter, under general anaesthetic. Thanks to its unique sound frequency, each transmitter will give the identity of the fish when the animal goes past listening posts.
Jérôme will nonetheless have to wait several months before he can find out more about the movements of the breams in their natural habitat,.

01 03 15 17
While waiting for the next episodes of malaïgue, the biologist teams up with physiologist David Mckenzie to carry out a trial in a controlled environment. By monitoring the health of the fish based on its heartbeats, the experiment makes it possible to determine the impact of environmental conditions with great precision.

Some breams were thus taken from the Etang de Leucate to the Ifremer station in Palavas-les-Flots in an oxygenated tank.

01 03 47 17 David Mckenzie - Physiologist - CNRS
“The difficulty with fish is to determine their energy consumption in natural conditions. We equip them with sensors to record their heart rate and we then calibrate the relation between the performance of the animal in the swim tunnel and the performance of its heart.”

01 04 08 18
The swim tunnel is an experimental device in which researchers can individually and gradually alter various parameters such as current intensity, water temperature and oxygenation level in the tank.

01 04 22 01 David Mckenzie - Physiologist - CNRS
“What we see here are cycles in which the fish consumes the oxygen in the watertight section. It spontaneously swims against the current and we measure how much oxygen it consumes.”

01 04 34 20
The scientists recreate the environmental conditions that breams come up against during a malaïgue heatwave.

This protocol enables David to determine the tolerance threshold beyond which the vital functions of the bream are affected and endangered by the environmental conditions. As the scientist explains, the results are clear-cut.

01 04 58 18 David McKenzie:
“We found that breams are highly sensitive to any change in temperature. Increasing it only slightly had a significant impact on their physiology. Their metabolic rate and oxygen consumption rose, and we're only talking about 25 to 27 degrees Celsius here.”

01 05 16 06
Furthermore, the team determined that a bream's organism can't withstand water temperatures above 35 degrees Celsius. A critical threshold that the fish can avoid in the wild.

01 05 28 21 David McKenzie:
“The fish can feel the temperature of the water, as well as its oxygen levels. They have sensors that enable them to know what's happening. When a fish knows that levels are becoming dangerous, it will leave.”

01 05 44 10
David's experiment predicts that breams in their natural environment can anticipate periods of extreme heat by leaving for the open sea. To verify this, Jérôme records the data collected over several months from the different listening posts spread out across the pools and at the mouth of the channels. By retrospectively analyzing the route taken by the tagged breams, he discovers the first results of the listening devices and notices that on the Etang de Thau, all of them left the pool simultaneously in August.

01 06 12 21 Jérôme Bourjea et Alexandre Mignucci:
Alexandre: It is obvious that all the breams left at the same time.
Jérôme: Unbelievable! It's going to be very interesting to correlate, since we have the water temperatures, and see whether there is a threshold time when they leave and if it corresponds to the experimental phase we carried out in Palavas.

01 06 28 20
In the wild, all the breams equipped with transmitters left the pool when temperatures reached about 28 degrees, in other words when the conditions became stressful.

The work of Jérôme Bourjea and David McKenzie, which combines ecology of movement and physiology, makes it possible to establish the ecological plasticity of the gilthead bream. By knowing the tolerance parameters, the ambition of this study is to determine how long the species can be present in the pools of the Mediterranean coastal regions.

01 06 55 10 Jérôme Bourjea:
“In 10, 20, 30 years' time, will the breams still visit the lagoons? If they don't, what will be the consequences? It will mean less food, which is yet essential for this species to reproduce. How will this impact the stock? Clearly, this problem must be investigated in the years to come. But more broadly, these increases in temperature in the lagoons will impact the ecosystem in general.”

01 07 21 12
This study will soon also be applied to other coastal species, such as the sea bass, also much-coveted by fishing communities.

In this context of rapid change to their environment, both the fish and those who live off fishing will have to adapt and reconsider the way they use the Mediterranean coast.

Director(s)

Aurélien PRUDOR

Summary

How much longer will marine life be able to withstand rising temperatures? Find out more about how scientists are trying to determine the impact of global warming on the physiology and behaviour of the gilthead sea bream.

CNRS Institute(s)

Regional office(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

Uniquement disponible pour exploitation non commerciale
© CNRS - 2021

Daurade royale face au changement climatique (La)

Numéro de notice

7341

Durée

00:07:54

Année de production

2021

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Transcription


Face à l'accélération du réchauffement planétaire, certaines régions se montrent plus vulnérables que d'autres : les pôles par exemple, ou encore la Méditerranée, véritable mer intérieure, qui se réchauffe 20% plus vite que le reste des océans. La situation est particulièrement critique sur la bande littorale laissant craindre selon les experts une modification profonde des communautés animales et végétales qui la peuplent.

Combien de temps encore cette daurade royale pourra-t-elle utiliser ces habitats lagunaires du pourtour méditerranéen ? Une question qui intéresse des scientifiques du CNRS et de l'Ifremer car ce poisson emblématique de la région, utilise ces lagunes pour se nourrir et constituer ses réserves énergétiques avant de se reproduire.

Jérôme Bourgea - biologiste marin - IFREMER
“Quand on réfléchit à des espèces comme la daurade qui utilisent très fortement ces lagunes, on peut se dire : mais qu'est-ce qu'il va se passer si la température de ses lagunes va prendre 1, 2, 3 degrés. Aujourd'hui est à 30 / 33 °c au plus chaud dans les lagunes mais peut être que dans 10 ans on va être à 35, 36 °c. Quelles sont leurs capacités pour supporter ces augmentations de températures ?”

Et en effet la question se pose car chaque année en été, les épisodes caniculaires bouleversent les conditions de vie des coquillages et des poissons méditerranéens au grand dam notamment des professionnels de la pêche. Surnommé localement la « malaïgue », littéralement “la mauvaise eau” en occitan, ce phénomène de surchauffe se produit de plus en plus fréquemment. Lorsque l'augmentation de la température combinée à l'absence de vent entraîne un bloom phytoplanctonique, autrement dit une prolifération d'algues et de bactéries qui consomment l'essentiel de l'oxygène disponible dans la colonne d'eau.

Face à cette raréfaction de l'oxygène, certaines espèces de poissons désertent les lieux et notamment les daurades royales qui quittent les étangs vers le large.

Pour comprendre le comportement des daurades à l'approche de ces événements extrêmes, Jérôme Bourjea et son équipe utilisent une technique dite de bioacoustique.

Jérôme Bourgea - biologiste marin
“On a une approche que l'on appelle une approche de télémétrie acoustique, c'est à dire que l'on va mettre dans l'eau des petits appareils qui vont écouter des bruits, et ces bruits spécifiques c'est quoi ? ce sont émis des petits émetteurs que l'on va implanter à l'intérieur de la daurade et qui vont l'identifier. Et on verra à quel moment quel poisson est passé à quel endroit.”

Le suivi du déplacement des daurades dans les étangs est permis grâce à l'aide des pêcheurs professionnels de l'étang de Thau et de Leucate. Dans cette collaboration, tous mettent à profit leurs savoirs faire pour cette étude qui nécessite la capture de daurades vivantes.

Après quelques mesures biométriques, poids, taille, et un prélèvement d'écailles permettant de déterminer l'âge du poisson, la daurade préalablement endormie est équipée d'un émetteur acoustique. Grâce à sa fréquence sonore unique, chaque émetteur déclinera son identité lorsque le poisson passera proche des stations d'écoutes.
Mais avant de connaître les allers et venues des daurades en milieu naturel, Jérôme va devoir patienter plusieurs mois

Dans l'attente des prochains épisodes de malaïgues, notre biologiste collabore avec David Mckenzie, physiologiste pour mener une expérience en milieu contrôlé. L'expérience en captivité offre l'opportunité de déterminer finement les impacts des conditions environnementales en mesurant l'état de santé du poisson grâce à ses battements cardiaques.

Quelques daurades pêchées dans l'étang de Leucate ont ainsi fait le voyage jusqu'à la station Ifremer de Palavas-les-flots dans un bassin oxygéné.

David Mckenzie - Physiologiste - CNRS
“La difficulté avec les poissons c'est de savoir leur dépense énergétique dans des conditions naturelles. Nous leur mettons des capteurs pour capter la fréquence cardiaque et ensuite on va calibrer les relations entre les performances de l'animal dans le tunnel de nage avec la performance de son coeur.”

Le tunnel de nage est un dispositif expérimental qui permet de faire varier individuellement et progressivement différents paramètres tels que l'intensité du courant, la température de l'eau et le taux d'oxygénation du bassin.

David Mckenzie - Physiologiste - CNRS
“ Ce qui se passe ici, c'est des cycles ou le poisson consomme l'oxygène dans la partie hermétique, il nage spontanément contre le courant, et donc on mesure combien il consomme d'oxygène.”

Les scientifiques reproduisent ainsi les conditions environnementales que les daurades rencontrent pendant un épisode caniculaire de malaïgue.

David détermine, grâce à ce protocole, le seuil de tolérance de la daurade au-delà duquel le fonctionnement vital de l'organisme est perturbé voire mis en danger par les conditions du milieu. Comme l'explique le chercheur les résultats sont très marqués :

David McKenzie :
Ce qu'on a trouvé, c'est qu'ils sont super sensibles au changement de température, on a augmenté de très peu et ça a eu des effets très marqués sur leur physiologie. Leur taux métabolique, leur consommation d'oxygène a augmenté, et ça c'était juste entre 25 et 27 °C.

De plus, l'équipe a mis en évidence que l'organisme d'une daurade ne peut supporter des températures dans l'eau supérieures à 35°c. Un seuil critique que le poisson a la possibilité d'éviter dans le milieu naturel.

En fait, les poissons sentent la température de l'eau, ils sentent l'oxygène dans l'eau. Donc ils ont des récepteurs qui leur permettent de savoir ce qu'il se passent. Et quand le poisson sait que cela arrive à des niveaux dangereux, il va partir.

L'expérience de David prédit ainsi que les Daurades en milieu naturel peuvent anticiper les périodes trop chaudes en fuyant vers le large. Pour le vérifier Jérôme récupère après quelques mois les données stockées dans les différentes stations d'écoutes réparties sur les étangs et aux embouchures des chenaux. En analysant rétrospectivement le trajet des daurades équipées, il découvre les premiers résultats du dispositif d'écoute et constate que sur l'étang de Thau toutes les daurades ont quitté simultanément l'étang au mois d'août.

Jérôme Bourjea et Alexandre Mignucci :
Alexandre : On voit bien que les daurades sont toutes sorties vraiment en même temps.
Jérôme : Incroyable ! Cela va être très intéressant de corréler, puisqu'on a les températures dans l'eau, de voir si on a un moment seuil sur lequel elles sortent et si cela correspond à toute cette partie expérimentale qu'on a fait à Palavas.

En milieu naturel, toute les daurades équipées d'émetteur ont donc déserté l'étang à des températures voisines de 28°c, c'est-à-dire dès que les conditions sont devenues contraignantes.

Les travaux de Jérôme Bourjea et David McKenzie qui mêlent l'écologie du mouvement et la physiologie permettent ainsi de préciser la plasticité écologique de la daurade royale. En connaissant ces paramètres de tolérance, l'ambition de cette étude est de déterminer la fenêtre de présence de l'espèce dans les étangs du pourtour méditerranéen.

Jérôme Bourjea :
“Dans dix, 20, 30 ans quelle sera la fréquentation des lagunes par les daurades. Si elle diminue, cela veut dire quoi ? cela veut dire moins d'alimentation, une phase prépondérante pour préparer la reproduction de cette espèce. Quel sera l'impact sur ce stock ? On a clairement ici une problématique à creuser dans les années à venir. Mais plus largement en fait ces augmentations de température dans ces lagunes elles vont impacter l'écosystème en générale "

Cette étude menée, doit prochainement s'étendre à d'autres espèces côtières, comme le loup,
une espèce également très convoité par le monde de la pêche.

Dans un contexte de changement rapide de leur environnement, poissons et pêcheurs vont devoir s'adapter et modifier leur utilisation du littoral côtier méditerranéen.

Réalisateur(s)

Aurélien PRUDOR

Résumé

Jusqu'où la faune marine parviendra-t-elle à supporter la hausse des températures ? Découvrez, dans ce film comment des scientifiques tentent de déterminer l'impact du réchauffement climatique sur la physiologie et le comportement de la daurade royale, poisson méditerranéen hypersensible.

Institut(s)

Délégation(s)

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.