Boirault No.1 anti-barbed-wire machine

Reference

6672

Duration

00:06:56

Production year

1917

Versions

Original material

HD
16/9
BW
Mute

Director(s)

Résumé

In a military camp, the High Commission of Inventions observes an anti-barbed wire prototype designed by Mr. Boirault. Designed in 1914 and built in 1915, the Boirault machine is considered "the interesting ancestor of the tank". This invention by arts and crafts engineer Louis Boirault is probably one of the most extravagant proposals documented by the Inventions Department. With its height of several meters, its weight of 30 tons and its shape resembling a rib cage or a giant salad spinner, this anti-barbed-wire tank does not go unnoticed. It had the advantage of combining two functions that were highly topical at the time: it made it possible to destroy barbed-wire networks and to cross the trenches at the same time. It is some kind of off-road vehicle.
The film demonstrates the characteristics of the Boirault tank with its gigantic dimensions and unidirectional movement. First filmed from the side, the Boirault machine is then captured from the front when it slowly but surely crushes rows of barbed wire.
Being too visible, slow and unable to change direction, its characteristics did not make the invention sustainable and on the contrary earned it the nickname "Diplodocus Militarus". Thus, and despite the hopes of the inventor, the commission of inventions eliminated one by one the different potential uses of the diplodocus militarus. Finally, the production of such a machine would have required too much metal in a time of shortness.

Scientific topics

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

Engin anti-barbelés Boirault n°1

Numéro de notice

6672

Durée

00:06:56

Année de production

1917

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
NB
Muet

Réalisateur(s)

Résumé

Dans un camp militaire, la Commission supérieure des inventions observe un prototype anti-barbelés conçu par M. Boirault. Conçu en 1914 et construit en 1915, l'engin Boirault est considéré comme « l'ancêtre intéressant du char ». Cette invention de l'ingénieur des arts et métiers Louis Boirault est probablement l'une des plus extravagantes propositions documentées par la Direction des inventions. Avec sa hauteur de plusieurs mètres, son poids de 30 tonnes et sa forme de cage thoracique ou de panier à salade géant, ce char anti-barbelés ne passe pas inaperçu. Il a l'avantage de cumuler deux fonctions alors fortement d'actualité : il permet à la fois d'anéantir les réseaux de fils barbelés et de franchir les tranchées. C'est une sorte d'engin tout terrain.
Le film démontre bien les caractéristiques du char Boirault : son gigantisme et son déplacement unidirectionnel. Filmé d'abord de profil, l'engin Boirault est ensuite capté de face lorsqu'il vient lentement mais sûrement écraser des rangées de barbelés.
Son caractère « trop voyant » associé à sa lenteur et son impossibilité de changer de direction n'aidèrent pas à rendre l'invention pérenne et lui valurent au contraire le surnom le « Diplodocus Militarus ». Ainsi, et malgré les espoirs de l'inventeur, la commission des inventions élimina un à un les différents usages potentiels du diplodocus militarus. En dernier lieu, la production d'une telle machine aurait réclamé une trop grande quantité de métal alors très convoité.

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.