© CNRS Images - 2016

Claire Voisin and the strength of abstraction

Numéro de notice

6297

Durée

00:04:11

Année de production

2016

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

ENA Alexandra

Résumé

The 2016 CNRS Gold Medal was awarded to the mathematician Claire Voisin. This distinction came as recognition for her major contributions to Complex Algebraic Geometry. Famous for her original and multifarious research, she won numerous rewards and has achieved exceptional international credit.
In this portrait, Claire Voisin takes a look back on her career and enthuses over the endless questions raised by mathematics. As a CNRS researcher for more than thirty years and rewarded on many occasions, she now holds the Chair of Algebraic Geometry at the Collège de France and has thus become the first woman to join the institution as a mathematician.
Claire Voisin has developed abstract mathematics at the intersection of several fields of knowledge, as a result of remarkable intuition and extreme cogency. Her research is dedicated to Algebraic Geometry (the study of the properties of sets characterized by an algebraic equation system) and simultaneously explores three very different comportments of mathematics, i.e., topology, complex geometry and algebraic geometry. She has spent much of her work on the Hodge conjecture - which is one of the millennium prize problems - and its Grothendieck's generalized version.

Personnalité(s)

Institut(s)

Regional office(s)

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© CNRS Images 2016

Claire Voisin, la force de l'abstraction

Numéro de notice

6297

Durée

00:04:11

Année de production

2016

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

ENA Alexandra

Résumé

La médaille d'or du CNRS 2016 distingue cette année la mathématicienne Claire Voisin. Cette récompense couronne ses contributions majeures en géométrie algébrique complexe. Réputée pour l'originalité et la diversité de ses travaux, elle a été distinguée par de nombreux prix et son rayonnement à l'international est exceptionnel.
Dans ce court portrait, Claire Voisin évoque son parcours et son enthousiasme pour l'infini questionnement que représente le domaine des mathématiques. Chercheuse au CNRS pendant une trentaine d'années et plusieurs fois primée, elle est aujourd'hui titulaire de la chaire Géométrie algébrique au Collège de France et devient ainsi la première mathématicienne à entrer cet établissement.
Claire Voisin a développé des mathématiques abstraites, à la frontière de plusieurs domaines de connaissances, fruit d'une intuition remarquable et d'une extrême rigueur. Elle a consacré ses recherches à la géométrie algébrique (l'étude des propriétés des ensembles définis par un système d'équations algébriques) et explore simultanément trois domaines des mathématiques très différents : la topologie, la géométrie complexe et la géométrie algébrique. Elle a consacré une grande partie de ses recherches à la conjecture de Hodge, qui figure parmi les sept problèmes du millénaire, ainsi qu'à sa version généralisée par Grothendieck.

Personnalité(s)

Institut(s)

Délégations(s)

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.