© CNRS Images - 2018

Médaille de l'innovation 2018 : Valérie Castellani

Reference

6570

Duration

00:03:01

Production year

2018

Versions

Original material

HD
16/9
Color
Sound

Director(s)

MIFSUD Nicolas

Résumé

On the occasion of her CNRS innovation medal awarded by the in 2018, Valérie Castellani, a specialist in developmental biology at the NeuroMyoGene Institute, discusses her journey. She conducts fundamental research on the development of the nervous system, with her team.
She works on neuroblastoma, a paediatric cancer of the peripheral nervous system. Her approach was to study this cancer from a developmental biology angle. This has led to the development of a new tumour model, which places human tumour cells in avian embryo tissues, this replicates the evolution of neuroblastoma.
This method enables tumour masses to regenerate in a few days and to obtain metastatic dispersion programmes. An innovation with strong potential that seems to also be applicable to other types of cancer. She co-founded the start-up OncoFactory in 2016 with her colleague Céline Delloye-Bourgeois, with whom she won the Concours Mondial d'Innovation. The start-up aims to use this tumour model in developing predictive biomarkers for personalised medicine and pre-clinical analysis.

Personnalité(s)

CNRS Institute(s)

Regional office(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© CNRS Images - 2018

Médaille de l'innovation 2018 : Valérie Castellani, chercheuse en biologie du développement

Numéro de notice

6570

Durée

00:03:01

Année de production

2018

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

MIFSUD Nicolas

Résumé

A l'occasion de sa médaille de l'innovation décernée par le CNRS en 2018, Valérie Castellani, spécialiste en biologie du développement à l'Institut NeuroMyoGene, relate son parcours. Avec son équipe, elle conduit des recherches fondamentales sur le développement du système nerveux.
Elle s'est intéressée au neuroblastome, un cancer pédiatrique du système nerveux périphérique. Son approche a été d'étudier ce cancer sous l'angle de la biologie du développement. Une démarche qui a permis de concevoir un nouveau modèle tumoral, qui consiste à placer des cellules tumorales humaines au sein des tissus de l'embryon aviaire, rejouant ainsi l'histoire du neuroblastome.
Ce modèle permet en quelques jours de recréer des masses tumorales et d'obtenir des programmes de dispersion métastatique. Une innovation à fort potentiel qui apparaît être déclinable sur d'autres types de cancer. Avec sa collaboratrice Céline Delloye-Bourgeois, elle cofonde en 2016 la start-up OncoFactory, avec laquelle elle est lauréate du Concours Mondial d'Innovation. La mission de sa start-up est d'exploiter ce modèle tumoral pour développer des bio-marqueurs prédictifs à des fins de médecine personnalisée et d'analyses précliniques.

Personnalité(s)

Institut(s)

Délégations(s)

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.