© CNRS Images - 2014

Fossil Diggers (The)

Reference

4319

Duration

00:20:00

Production year

2014

Original material

HD
16/9
Color
Sound

Summary

This film describes the progress of palaeontological diggings between 2011 and 2013 on the famous site of Muse (Carboniferous Permian Autunian phase, in Burgundy) which has become a multidisciplinary and international training excavation site. Since the 19th century, this world-class deposit - geologists call it the "Autunian stratotype" - has produced very rich and astonishing samples of palaeobiodiversity with the unearthing of exceptionally well-preserved fossils of plants and animals, the ultimate testimonies of a world lost before the dinosaurs. Specific fossiliferous levels, such as the famous "fish layer", have been puzzling the scientists who were wondering why these bony fish died en masse.
Despite sometimes difficult conditions, diggers patiently worked on collecting fossils and studying the stratigraphy and geochemistry of the subsoil. Under the guidance of Jean-Sébastien Steyer, a CNRS researcher at the Muséum national d'histoire naturelle (national museum of natural history) in Paris, they conducted an exciting investigation to reconstruct the environment of the time.
In 2013, beautiful findings crowned the efforts of the palaeontologists, including fossils of plants, insects, sharks, bone fish and tetrapods. After excavating a depth of several metres of oil shale, the diggers finally reached the fish layer from which they carefully extracted slabs. Paleontologist and preparer Gaël de Ploeg makes a passionate description of an astounding shark fossil found among those remains.
This film is a sequel to "Life after the Dinosaurs", a film directed in 2010 by CNRS Images, following Jean-Sébastien Steyer's research work.

Scientific referent(s)

CNRS Institute(s)

Regional office(s)

Scientific topics

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© CNRS Images - 2014

Forçats des fossiles (Les)

Numéro de notice

4319

Durée

00:20:00

Année de production

2014

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Résumé

Ce film, nous présente l'évolution des fouilles paléontologiques, entre 2011 et 2013 sur le célèbre site de Muse (Carbonifère-Permien d'Autun, en Bourgogne) devenu chantier-école multidisciplinaire et international. Ce gisement de référence mondiale – les géologues parlent de « stratotype Autunien » – livre depuis le 19ème siècle une très riche et étonnante paléobiodiversité : des fossiles exceptionnellement bien préservés de plantes et d'animaux y sont découverts, ultimes témoins d'un monde perdu avant les dinosaures. Certains niveaux fossilifères, comme la fameuse "couche à poisson", intriguent les scientifiques : pour quelle(s) raison(s) ces poissons osseux sont-ils morts en masse ?
Malgré des conditions parfois difficiles, les fouilleurs travaillent patiemment à la collecte de fossiles et à l'étude stratigraphique et géochimique du sous-sol. Avec Jean-Sébastien Steyer, chercheur au CNRS affecté au Muséum national d'histoire naturelle à Paris, ils mènent une enquête passionnante pour reconstituer l'environnement de l'époque.
En 2013, de belles découvertes viennent couronner les efforts des paléontologues, notamment des fossiles de plantes, d'insectes, requins, poissons osseux et tétrapodes. Après avoir excavé plusieurs mètres d'épaisseur de schistes bitumineux, les fouilleurs atteignent enfin la couche à poisson dont ils extraient soigneusement des dalles. Parmi les découvertes figure un incroyable fossile de requin que le paléontologue et préparateur Gaël de Ploeg décrit avec passion.
Ce film fait suite à « La vie avant les dinosaures » réalisé en 2010 par le CNRS Images et dans lequel nous suivions déjà les travaux de recherche de Jean-Sébastien Steyer.

Référent(s) Scientifique(s)

Institut(s)

Délégation(s)

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.