© CNRS - 2012

Villejuif Campus

Reference

3000

Duration

00:30:00

Production year

2012

Versions

Color
Sound

Director(s)

Arghyro PAOURI

Summary

Researchers trace the history of the CNRS Villejuif campus units while identifying the site's highlights according to three main periods.
1930-1960: Creation of the Villejuif Cancer Institute, bringing together research laboratories and a hospital in order to bring medical research and clinical applications closer together. Integration of this Institute in the CNRS in 1948 and development of an electronic microscopy laboratory.
1960-1980: Separation of the Institute into two entities, the Cancer and Normal Cell Research Centre and the Cancer Scientific Research Institute. Basic research in immunology begins. In 1968, the two Institutes merge to bring the world of physicians and biologists closer together. A time of great discoveries, like evidencing the role of P53 proteins in cancer development.
1980-2010: Creation of the Gustave Roussy Institute on a new site, the existing hospital being too small. Merger of the laboratories remaining on site within the Life Sciences department whose research focuses on protein biochemistry. Two new stakeholders emerge and join forces with the the CNRS: the ARC to support campus funding and the INSERM in the creation of a CNRS-INSERM federative Institute . Arrival of the Human and Social Sciences (laboratories of ethnology, linguistics, philosophy and sciences and History of religions) on the campus which becomes the 3rd pole in Humanities and Social Sciences in the Parisian area. Creation of a federation of multidisciplinary teams to promote exchanges between researchers and to pool documentary collections. Reflections on the future of the site as a result of a unit relocation plan.

CNRS Institute(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© CNRS - 2012

Campus de Villejuif

Numéro de notice

3000

Durée

00:30:00

Année de production

2012

Versions

Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

PAOURI Arghyro

Résumé

Des chercheurs retracent l'histoire des unités du campus CNRS de Villejuif tout en identifiant les temps forts du site selon trois grandes périodes.
1930-1960 : Création de l'Institut du cancer de Villejuif regroupant des laboratoires de recherche et un hôpital afin de rapprocher la recherche médicale et les applications cliniques. Rattachement de cet Institut au CNRS en 1948 et développement d'un laboratoire de microscopie électronique.
1960-1980 : Séparation de l'Institut en 2 entités, le centre de recherches sur la cellule normale et cancéreuse et l'Institut de recherches scientifiques sur le cancer. Début des recherches fondamentales en immunologie. En 1968, réunion des deux Instituts pour rapprocher le monde des médecins de celui des biologistes. Epoque de grandes découvertes, en particulier, la mise en évidence du rôle de la protéine P53 dans le développement du cancer.
1980-2010 : Création de l'Institut Gustave Roussy sur un nouveau site, l'hôpital existant étant trop petit. Regroupement des laboratoires restés sur place au sein du département des Sciences de la Vie dont les recherches portent sur la biochimie des protéines. Apparition de deux nouveaux acteurs qui se rapprochent du CNRS : l'ARC pour l'aide au financement du campus et l'INSERM pour la création d'un Institut fédératif CNRS / INSERM. Arrivée des Sciences Humaines et Sociales (laboratoires d'ethnologie, de linguistique, de philosophie et de sciences et Histoire des religions) sur le campus qui devient le 3ème pôle des SHS en Île-de-France. Création d'une fédération d'équipes pluridisciplinaires permettant des échanges entre chercheurs et la mise en commun de fonds documentaires. Réflexions sur le devenir du site face au projet de déménagement des unités.

Institut(s)

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.