© CNRS Images 2008

Sirius Puzzles

Reference

2008

Duration

00:42:00

Production year

2008

Versions

Original material

Color
Sound

Director(s)

BLUMBERG Jérôme

Résumé

Sirius is the brightest star in the sky, which makes its image particularly difficult to obtain, even with the most powerful telescopes. The astrophysicist Jean-Marc Bonnet-Bidaud relies on observations by the Greek astronomer Ptolemy and Chinese astronomical texts to hypothesize that Sirius changed colour at the beginning of our era. This change in colour could be explained by the presence of one or two "companion stars" orbiting Sirius.
Jean-Marc Bonnet-Bidaud travels to the largest observatories of the planet (Pic du Midi, La Silla in Chile), and also among the Dogon of Mali for his research. Sirius is Sigi Tolo, the star celebrated in the Sigui, the most important Dogon ceremony that takes place every sixty years.
Jean-Marc Bonnet-Bidaud observed the joint rising of the sun and Sirius, as the Dogon have always described it, together with ethnologists Jean Rouch and Germaine Dieterlen. He interviewed about the primordial role of this star in the Dogon cosmogony, wondering how the Dogon became aware of this star and its companion in the absence of any observation equipment.

CNRS Institute(s)

Regional office(s)

Scientific topics

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© CNRS Images 2008

Enigmes de Sirius

Numéro de notice

2008

Durée

00:42:00

Année de production

2008

Versions

Support Original

Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

BLUMBERG Jérôme

Résumé

Sirius est l'étoile la plus brillante du ciel, ce qui rend son image particulièrement difficile à obtenir, même avec les télescopes les plus performants. L'astrophysicien Jean-Marc Bonnet-Bidaud, s'appuyant sur des observations de l'astronome grec Ptolémée et sur des textes astronomiques chinois, émet l'hypothèse que Sirius aurait changé de couleur au début de notre ère. Ce changement de couleur pourrait s'expliquer par la présence d'une ou deux "étoiles compagnons" gravitant autour de Sirius.
Ses recherches mènent Jean-Marc Bonnet-Bidaud dans les plus grands observatoires de la planète (Pic du Midi, La Silla au Chili), et également chez les Dogon du Mali. Sirius, c'est Sigi Tolo, l'étoile du Sigui, cérémonie dogon la plus importante qui a lieu tous les soixante ans.
Jean-Marc Bonnet-Bidaud, accompagné des ethnologues Jean Rouch et Germaine Dieterlen, a observé le lever conjoint du soleil et de Sirius, tel que les Dogon le décrivent depuis toujours. Il s'est entretenu avec eux du rôle primordial de cette étoile dans la cosmogonie dogon, se demandant comment les Dogon ont eu connaissance d'une telle étoile et de son compagnon en l'absence de tout matériel d'observation.

Institut(s)

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.