© CNRS Images - 2011

An evening with Edgar Morin

Reference

4223

Duration

02:02:00

Production year

2011

Versions

Original material

SD
16/9
Color
Sound

Summary

A special evening to celebrate Edgar Morin's 60th career year at the CNRS was organized on the first floor of the Eiffel Tower. Various personalities from the world of research but also from politics came to pay tribute to the outstanding career of this global thinker.
In a speech that was both funny and moving, Edgar Morin recalled when he joined the CNRS in 1951, at the age of 31. This gave the opportunity for the sociologist to outline the incredible freedom he enjoyed as a researcher in this institution.
During the evening, a round table was moderated by Stéphanie Prouteau and Edouard Kleinpeter, researchers at the ISCC. Researchers Joanna Nowicki, Mauro Ceruti, Alfredo Pena -Vega and Jacques Perriault were panellists. Finally, the celebration ended with a concert, at the end of which the conductor stepped aside to give the baton for the length of a song to Edgar Morin who saw one of his old dreams come true.

CNRS Institute(s)

Regional office(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© CNRS Images - 2011

Une soirée avec Edgar Morin

Numéro de notice

4223

Durée

02:02:00

Année de production

2011

Versions

Support Original

SD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Résumé

Une soirée en hommage à Edgar Morin est organisée au premier étage de la tour Eiffel afin de fêter ses 60 ans au sein du CNRS. Différentes personnalités issues du monde de la recherche mais aussi de la politique sont venues saluer l'immense carrière de ce penseur planétaire.
Lors d'un discours à la fois drôle et émouvant, Edgar Morin revient sur son entrée au CNRS en 1951, à l'âge de 31 ans. C'est l'occasion pour le sociologue de rappeler l'incroyable liberté dont il a bénéficié en tant que chercheur au sein de cette institution.
Au cours de la soirée, une table ronde est animée par Stéphanie Prouteau et Edouard Kleinpeter, chercheurs à l'ISCC. Les chercheurs Joanna Nowicki, Mauro Ceruti, Alfredo Pena-Vega et Jacques Perriault participent à la discussion. Enfin, l'hommage se clôt par un concert, à la fin duquel le chef d'orchestre cède sa place à Edgar Morin, le temps d'une chanson, permettant ainsi au sociologue de réaliser un vieux rêve.

Institut(s)

Délégations(s)

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.