Only available for non-commercial distribution
© CNRS - 2021

Gold Medal 2021: Jean Dalibard, explorer of the quantum world

Reference

7358

Duration

00:05:43

Production year

2021

Versions

Original material

HD
16/9
Color
Sound

Summary

As a passionate researcher and teacher, Jean Dalibard has never stopped playing with light and matter, which for him, are "the fundamentals of the physical world". He contributed to the emergence and influence of a new discipline, cold atoms.
Throughout his career, including thirty years at the CNRS, this eminent researcher has distinguished himself by the originality of his approach. His theory and experiments are at the heart of atomic physics and radiation research.
In 2021, Jean Dalibard received the CNRS Gold Medal, one of the most prestigious French scientific awards, for his outstanding, internationally recognised career.
His pioneering work led to major advances in atomic physics, showing how light can control matter. Among other achievements, he was behind the development of quantum technology, such as the magneto-optical trap for cold atoms. He was also responsible for the very first experiments on quantum vortices in cold atom gases, objects that defy our understanding. He is internationally recognised as a leader in the field of quantum gases, especially Bose-Einstein condensates, a special state of matter at very low temperature. He studies the properties of assemblies of atoms slowed and even stopped by lasers. Once immobilised, these atoms can be trapped in controllable spatial configurations, with a view to fundamental explorations or applications.
Finally, he is working on quantum simulation, an approach that can experimentally solve problems beyond the reach of today's computing power through the use of cold atom gases, to try and answer questions from solid-state physics, nuclear physics, and astrophysics.

CNRS Institute(s)

Regional office(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

Uniquement disponible pour exploitation non commerciale
© CNRS - 2021

Médaille d'Or 2021 : Jean Dalibard, explorateur du monde quantique

Numéro de notice

7358

Durée

00:05:43

Année de production

2021

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Résumé

Chercheur et enseignant passionné, Jean Dalibard n'a jamais cessé de jouer avec la lumière et la matière, pour lui « l'essentiel du monde physique ». Il a contribué à l'émergence et au rayonnement d'une nouvelle discipline, les atomes froids.
Durant toute sa carrière, dont trente années passées au CNRS, cet éminent chercheur s'est distingué par l'originalité de son approche mêlant théorie et expérience au coeur de la physique des atomes et du rayonnement.
En 2021, Jean Dalibard reçoit la médaille d'or du CNRS, l'une des plus prestigieuses récompenses scientifiques françaises, pour sa carrière exceptionnelle de renommée internationale.
Ses travaux pionniers ont permis des avancées considérables en physique atomique, en montrant comment la lumière permet de contrôler la matière. Il est à l'origine, entre autres, du développement de technologies quantiques tel que le piège magnéto-optique pour atomes froids. On lui doit également les toutes premières expériences sur les tourbillons quantiques dans les gaz d'atomes froids, des objets qui défient l'intuition… Considéré comme un des chefs de file du domaine des gaz quantiques, il a notamment travaillé sur les condensats de Bose-Einstein, un état particulier de la matière à très basse température. Il étudie les propriétés des assemblées d'atomes que des lasers permettent de ralentir, voire d'arrêter. Une fois immobilisés, ces atomes peuvent être piégés dans des configurations spatiales contrôlables, en vue d'explorations fondamentales ou d'applications.
Enfin, il travaille sur la simulation quantique, une approche permettant de résoudre expérimentalement des problèmes hors de portée des calculs actuels en utilisant les gaz d'atomes froids, et tenter ainsi de répondre à des questions issues de la physique des solides, de la physique nucléaire ou encore de l'astrophysique.

Institut(s)

Délégation(s)

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.