© CNRS Images - 2014

Controlling biofilms [Animal experimentation sequence]

Reference

4403

Duration

00:05:00

Production year

2014

Versions

HD
16/9
Color
Sound

Summary

Biofilms are clusters of bacteria that are highly resistant to antibiotic treatment and antibacterial substances. They are responsible for the contamination of medical equipment (articular and vascular prostheses) and their proliferation can lead to widespread infection in some patients.
Matthieu Revest and Karine Steenkeste of the ISMO laboratory are collaborating on the visualization of biofilm effects on medical equipment. Electron microscopy has revealed that these biofilms are not totally resistant to certain antibiotics.
An experiment in mice infected with Staphylococcus aureus revealed that treatment with specific antibiotics significantly reduced the number of bacteria present in prostheses.
In the future, a clinical study carried out on humans could lead to safer prostheses.

Scientific referent(s)

CNRS Institute(s)

Regional office(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© CNRS Images - 2014

A l'assaut des biofilms [Séquence expérimentation animale]

Numéro de notice

4403

Durée

00:05:00

Année de production

2014

Versions

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

COURBATZE Jean-Pierre

Résumé

Les biofilms sont des amas de bactéries qui présentent une importante résistance aux traitements par antibiotiques et aux actions anti-bactériennes. Responsables de la contamination de matériel médical (prothèses articulaires et vasculaires) leur prolifération peut évoluer en infection généralisée chez certains patients.
Matthieu Revest et Karine Steenkeste du laboratoire ISMO collaborent à une visualisation des effets des biofilms sur le matériel médical. La microscopie électronique a mis en évidence le fait que ces biofilms n'étaient pas hermétiques à certains antibiotiques.
Une expérience menée sur des souris infectées par un staphylocoque doré a révélé qu'un traitement par antibiotiques spécifiques diminuaient sensiblement le nombre de bactéries présentes dans la prothèse.
A l'avenir, une étude clinique, réalisée sur l'homme pourrait permettre de rendre les prothèses plus sûres.

Référent(s) Scientifique(s)

Institut(s)

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.