© CNRS Images - 2014

Mediterranean in a time of measuring (The)

Numéro de notice

4182

Durée

00:14:00

Année de production

2014

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

DALAISE Marcel

Résumé

HyMex (HYdrological cycle in Mediterranean EXperiment) is an international cross-disciplinary research programme which started in 2010 and whose objectives are to observe and understand the different components of water cycles around the Mediterranean Basin. It is part of the wider range MISTRALS programme.
Researchers from different disciplines (climatologists, agronomists, sociologists, atmospheric physicists) work on this project, which involves considerable resources (aircraft, ships, low atmosphere drifting balloons, flow measurement stations, etc.)
In autumn, the Mediterranean basin region is regularly subjected to heavy rainfall episodes and high floods that endanger populations. The first part of this project aims to improve hydrometeorological forecasts for this area by analysing the interactions between atmosphere, sea and mainland.
These measures will not only help to refine meteorological models but also to contribute to climate modelling in order to understand the impact of global warming on the Mediterranean coastline.
The other part of this campaign will study the phenomenon of deep-sea water formation in the Mediterranean Sea.

Institut(s)

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

© CNRS Images - 2014

Méditerranée, le temps des mesures

Numéro de notice

4182

Durée

00:14:00

Année de production

2014

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Réalisateur(s)

DALAISE Marcel

Résumé

HyMex (HYdrological cycle in Mediterranean EXperiment) est un programme international de recherche pluridisciplinaire lancé en 2010 dont l'objectif est l'observation et la compréhension des différentes composantes du cycle de l'eau sur le pourtour du bassin méditerranéen. Il est associé à un programme beaucoup plus vaste dénommé MISTRALS.
Des chercheurs de différentes disciplines (climatologue, agronome, sociologue, physicien de l'atmosphère) interviennent dans le cadre de ce projet qui prévoit le déploiement de moyens considérables : avions, bateaux, ballons d'observation des basses couches de l'atmosphère, station de mesure de flux …
En automne la région du bassin méditerranéen est régulièrement soumise à des épisodes de pluies intenses ainsi qu'à de fortes crues dangereuses pour la population. La première partie de ce projet vise donc à améliorer les prévisions hydrométéorologiques sur cette zone en analysant les interactions entre atmosphère, mer et continent.
Ces mesures vont non seulement servir à affiner les modèles météorologiques mais aussi à contribuer aux modèles climatiques pour appréhender l'impact du réchauffement sur le littoral méditerranéen.
L'autre volet de cette campagne, concerne quant à lui, l'étude du phénomène de formation d'eaux profondes en mer méditerranée.

Institut(s)

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.