1967-to-1973 Sigui and the invention of speech and death (The)

Reference

6573

Duration

02:09:19

Production year

1981

Versions

Original material

HD
16/9
Color
Sound

Résumé

The Sigui is a traveling ritual celebrated every sixty years for seven consecutive years in the different groups of Dogon villages on the Bandiagara cliff. It commemorates the revelation of the spoken word to men and the death and funeral of the first ancestor. French ethnologist Marcel Griaule was the first to collect first data on the progress of these celebrations in 1931.
- In 1966, the Hogon, a religious leader, announces the time of the Sigui for the following year.
- In 1967, in the village of Yougo, all men under sixty shave and dress in Sigui attire to celebrate the death of the first ancestor. They perform the dance of the serpent around Yougo's anvil and share the communal beer. On the third day, the Sigui leaves Yougo for its long journey.
- In February 1968, the men of the village of Tyogou respond to the drum call. They processed across the valley towards the old village to the rhythm of the serpent dance, then return to the public square of Tyogou. The cliff dancers dance the first ancestor's funeral around the fig tree and drink millet beer. In front of the cave containing the four old masks of the previous four Sigui, the new mask remains on the ground, unpainted.
— In 1969 in Banani, all the men and Olubaru of the four villages of Bongo gather to dance around the common field of lineage. They can behold the four large masks erected against the Sigui cave marking the rebirth of the common ancestor for another sixty years in the form of a serpent and with the rank of an immortal. In the evening, bullroarers are swung to replicate the ancestor's voice.
- In 1970, the elders of Amani begin the spiral of the word and then take to the paths of the mask and of speech through the village. Gathered in the square, men of all ranks of age listen to an elder chanting in Sigi so, the secret language of the Sigui. Worshippers respond with songs and clamours, thus preparing for the birth of new Nanous, the respondents of the cult of the dead. The Sigui was brought to the elders of Bango, the twin village of Amani, who receive speech from the elder of Amani.
- In 1971, in response to the spoken word coming from the cliff, all men in Idyeli bury themselves in small groups in the dune overlooking the village. At the sound of the Bullroarers, the whole dune comes alive as if giving birth to babies. The new generation of the Sigui walks down towards the spring and the village square in Sigui outfit, and the mask slowly becomes visible.
- In 1972, in Yamé the Sigui is celebrated with the whole community joining in. In women's clothes and tattoos, the men listen to an elder from Idyeli passing on the spoken word in Sigi so language. With Ama, the master of space, the Sigui goes from the east to the west and the procession enters Yamé towards the men's shelter, the West Toguna which marks the boundaries of the Sigui, to leave the cave-seats there. After the performance of songs and dances along the path, three Olubarus leave for the west.
- In 1973, a year of drought in Sahel, the ritual of drinking millet beer is not performed.
- In 1974, three friends of Jean Rouch revisit the journey of the three Olubarus towards Songo. After passing the rock of the blacksmith's descent, they visit the Songo canopy, whose wall is covered with drawings and paintings dedicated to the Sigui, and the overhang and grotto of the circumcision. The three men then chant and walk back towards the anvil of Yougo. Thus followed the three years of the cycle of death and the four years of the new cycle of life.

Scientific topics

CNRS Images,

Our work is guided by the way scientists question the world around them and we translate their research into images to help people to understand the world better and to awaken their curiosity and wonderment.

Sigui 1967-1973 : Invention de la parole et de la mort

Numéro de notice

6573

Durée

02:09:19

Année de production

1981

Versions

Support Original

HD
16/9
Couleur
Sonore

Résumé

Le Sigui, cérémonie itinérante, célébré tous les soixante ans, pendant sept années consécutives, dans les différents groupes de villages Dogon de la falaise de Bandiagara, commémore la révélation de la parole aux hommes et la mort et les funérailles du premier ancêtre. En 1931, l'ethnologue français Marcel Griaule recueille les premières données du déroulement de ces célébrations.
- En 1966, le Hogon, chef religieux, annonce le temps du Sigui pour l'année suivante.
- En 1967, au village de Yougo, tous les hommes de moins de soixante ans, rasés et vêtus du costume du Sigui, célèbrent la mort du premier ancêtre. Ils dansent sur le rythme du serpent autour de l'enclume de Yougo et partagent la bière communielle. Au troisième jour, le Sigui quitte Yougo pour son long périple.
- En février 1968, les hommes du village de Tyogou répondent à l'appel du tambour. La procession traverse la vallée vers l'ancien village au rythme du serpent, puis rentre sur la place publique de Tyogou. Les danseurs de la falaise dansent les funérailles du premier ancêtre autour du figuier et boivent la bière de mil. Devant la caverne qui renferme les quatre vieux masques des quatre précédents Sigui, le nouveau masque reste au sol, nu sans peintures.
- En 1969 à Banani, tous les hommes et les Olubaru des quatre villages de Bongo, rassemblés pour danser autour du champ commun de lignage, peuvent voir, dressés contre la caverne du Sigui, les quatre grands masques, marquant la renaissance, pour soixante ans sous forme de serpent et au rang d'immortel, de l'ancêtre commun. Au soir, les rhombes reproduisent la voix de l'ancêtre.
- En 1970, les anciens d'Amani amorcent la spirale de la parole et empruntent, à travers le village, le chemin du masque et le chemin de la parole. Rassemblés sur la place, les hommes de tous rangs d'âge écoutent la parole chantée par un ancien en Sigiso, la langue secrète du Sigui. Les participants répondent par des chants et des clameurs, ainsi se prépare la naissance de nouveaux Nanou, les répondants du culte des morts. Le Sigui est apporté aux anciens du village frère d'Amani Bango, qui reçoivent la parole de l'ancien d'Amani.
- En 1971, en écho à la parole venue de la falaise, tous les hommes d'Idyéli s'enterrent par petits groupes dans la dune qui surplombe le village. A l'appel des Rhombes, toute la dune s'anime, c'est la naissance des enfants nouveau-nés. La nouvelle génération du Sigui descend vers la source et la place du village en parures du Sigui, le masque vient doucement.
- En 1972, à Yamé le Sigui est collectif. En habits et tatouages de femmes, les hommes écoutent un ancien d'Idyéli qui passe la parole en Sigiso. Avec Ama, le maître de l'espace, le Sigui va de l'est vers l'ouest et la procession entre dans Yamé, jusqu'à l'abri des hommes, le Togouna de l'ouest, qui reçoit les crosses-sièges et marque la limite du Sigui. Après les chants et danses au rythme du chemin, trois Olubaru partent vers l'ouest.
- En 1973, année de sécheresse au Sahel, on ne suit pas un rituel où l'on boit de la bière de mil.
- En 1974, trois amis de Jean Rouch refont le périple des trois Olubaru vers Songo. Passé le rocher de la descente du forgeron, ils visitent l'auvent de Songo, dont la paroi est recouverte des dessins et peintures consacrés au Sigui, et l'auvent et la caverne de la circoncision. Les trois hommes effectuent alors au rythme des chants la marche du retour vers l'enclume de Yougo. Ainsi se sont succédées les trois années du cycle de la mort et les quatre années du nouveau cycle de la vie.

Thématiques scientifiques

CNRS Images,

Nous mettons en images les recherches scientifiques pour contribuer à une meilleure compréhension du monde, éveiller la curiosité et susciter l'émerveillement de tous.